Waters Roger - Soldier's Tale i gruppen CD / CD Klassiskt hos Bengans Skivbutik AB (3322707)

Waters Roger - Soldier's Tale

169 kr
Pris och lagerstatus gäller webbshoppen
Fakta . Roger Waters recorded the album because of a personal background as Mr. Waters' father went missing in World War II and his grandfather died in battle in World War I.

. The loss of his father has been a central theme throughout his live and topic for other releases. Telegraph UK: "I think I am still preoccupied by the same things that I was 30 years ago. Losing my father, and that attachment that I have to his humanity, is still central to everything that I do"

. Roger Waters adapted the English translation of "L'histoire du Soldat" (original title of the piece) and recorded all 3 characters himself with different accents and speaking voices.

. Video Tools to support the release will be available.

. Roger Waters is on world tour in Europe and South America until the end of the year.

The Soldier's Tale is a theatrical work "to be read, played, and danced" by three actors (the soldier, the devil, and a narrator) and dancers, accompanied by a septet of instruments. The libretto relates the parable of a soldier who trades his fiddle to the devil in return for unlimited economic gain. The music is scored for a septet of violin, double bass, clarinet, bassoon, cornet or trumpet), trombone, and percussion. The libretto is adapted by Roger Waters from the translation by Michael Flanders and Kitty Black, based on the original text by Charles-Ferdinand Ramus.

As the work opens, Joseph, a Russian soldier, marches toward his hometown on leave, pack in tow. ("Marche du soldat"/"The Soldier's March") He rests by a stream and rummages through his pack. First he takes out his lucky St. Joseph medallion, then a mirror, then a photograph of his girlfriend. Finally, he finds what he was searching for: his fiddle. He begins to play. ("Petit airs au bord du ruisseau"/"Airs by a Stream") The devil appears disguised as an old man carrying a butterfly net, but Joseph does not notice him and continues to play. The devil sneaks up on Joseph from behind and startles him.
Artist: Waters Roger
Enheter i förpackning: 1 st
Inspelad, år: 2018
Label: Sony Classi
Lev. Artnr.: 19075872732
Leverantör: Bertus
Media: CD
Releasedatum: 2018-10-26
Streckkod: 0190758727325
  • 1. The Soldiers March
  • 2. The Soldier Is Tired
  • 3. Airs By A Stream
  • 4. As You Can Hear...
  • 5. The Soldiers March (Reprise)
  • 6. Eventually[komma] Joseph Reaches His Home Village...
  • 7. Pastorale
  • 8. The Soldier[komma] Disconsolate...
  • 9. Pastorale (Reprise)
  • 10. The Soldier[komma] Slowly Coming Back To Himself...
  • 11. Airs By A Stream (Reprise) - To Stretch Out On The Grass...
  • 12. Hey Satan[komma] You Bastard...
  • 13. Airs By A Stream (2Nd Reprise)
  • 14. Nowt To Be Gained Here...
  • 15. The Soldiers March (2Nd Reprise): Down A Hot And Dusty Track
  • 16. He Doesn't Even Know Himself...
  • 17. The Soldiers March (3Rd Reprise): Will He Take The Road To H
  • 18. He Doesn't Have A Home Anymore...
  • 19. The Royal March
  • 20. So All Was Arranged...
  • 21. Later That Night...
  • 22. The Little Concert - Light Floods The Eastern Sky...
  • 23. The Soldier[komma] With A Confident Air...
  • 24. Three Dances - Tango
  • 25. Three Dances - Waltz
  • 26. Three Dances - Ragtime
  • 27. So First A Tango...
  • 28. The Devil's Dance
  • 29. The Devil[komma] Confused...
  • 30. The Little Chorale
  • 31. The Devil Recovers Some Of His Wits
  • 32. The Devil's Song - All Right! You'll Be Safe At Home...
  • 33. Hm[komma] A Fair Warning...
  • 34. Grand Chorale (Part 1)
  • 35. Spring[komma] Summer[komma] Autumn...
  • 36. Grand Chorale (Part 2)
  • 37. Steady Now...
  • 38. Grand Chorale (Part 3)
  • 39. Steady[komma] Just Smell The Flowers...
  • 40. Grand Chorale (Part 4)
  • 41. Now I Have Everything...
  • 42. Grand Chorale (Part 5)
  • 43. The Princess[komma] All Excited...
  • 44. Grand Chorale (Part 6)
  • 45. And So[komma] Off They Go...
  • 46. Triumphal March Of The Devil
Se fler varor
Andra har köpt: